The WPL Board provides guidance for all the WPL activities. The Board also coordinates the network of WPL Ambassadors.

Kristjánsdóttir copy

Hanna Birna Kristjánsdóttir is Senior Advisor of UN Women and the Chair of the WPL Board. Minister of Interior of Iceland (2013-2014), Member of Parliament of Iceland (2013-2016), and Mayor of Reykjavík (2008-2010).

Helen Clark, Prime Minister of New Zealand  (1999-2008) and Administrator of the United Nations Development Programme (2009-2017).

Dr. Jewel Howard-Taylor is the Vice President of Liberia and President of the Senate of Liberia. She is also the Chairperson of the Senate Health and Social Welfare Committee on Gender, Women and Children.


Marie-Louise Coleiro Preca was the President of Malta (2014-2019)


Dr. Nurhayati Ali Assegaf is a Member of Parliament of Indonesia. She is the Chairperson of the Committee for Inter Parliamentary Cooperation in the House of Representatives of Indonesia.


Rosalía Arteaga was the President of Ecuador in 1997



Silvana Koch-Mehrin is the Founder of the Women Political Leaders Global Forum (WPL), MEP (2004-2014) and Vice President of the European Parliament (2009-2011).