Advisory Board Members

  • Professor Muhammad Yunus, Bangladeshi philanthropist, economist and founder of the Grameen Bank. 2006 Nobel Peace Price Laureate for his efforts through microcredit to create economic and social development from below
  • Professor Jody Williams, Chair of the Nobel Women’s Initiative. 1997 Nobel Peace Prize Laureate for her work as founding coordinator of the International Campaign to Ban Landmines (ICBL).
  • Dr Denis Mukwege, founder and director of the Panzi Hospital, specialized in treating victims of sexual violence, honoured with the UN Human Rights Award 2008 and the Right Livelihood Award 2013
  • Jóhanna Sigurðardóttir, first female Prime Minister of Iceland from 2009 to 2013. Former Minister of Social Affairs and Social Security. MP from 1978 to 2013 having achieved re-election on eight successive occasions
  • Dr Viviane Reding, Vice-President of the European Commission and currently serving as European Commissioner for Justice, Fundamental Rights and Citizenship. In this function, she pushes hard to strengthen the EU’s commitment to equality between women and men
  • Dr Olli Rehn, Vice President of the European Commission and currently serving as European Commissioner for Economic and Monetary Affairs and the Euro. Variety of senior political positions in European institutions as well as in Finland
  • Dr Mo Ibrahim, Sudanese-British mobile communications entrepreneur and philanthropist. Founder and Chair of the Mo Ibrahim Foundation. Creator of the Mo Ibrahim Prize for Achievement in African Leadership and the Mo Ibrahim Index of African Governance
  • Dr Nkosazana Dlamini-Zuma, Chairperson of the African Union Commission
, former Minister of Foreign Affairs, Minister of Health and Minister of Home Affairs of the Republic of South Africa
  • Tarja Halonen, Finland’s first female Head of State (2000-2012)
  • Lakshmi Puri, Deputy Executive Director UN Women and Assistant Secretary-General of the United Nations, former Ambassador of India to Hungary
  • Ertharin Cousin, Executive Director of the World Food Programme, former US Ambassador to the UN Agencies for Food and Agriculture and former head of the US Mission to UN Agencies in Rome, Italy
  • Pascal Lamy, former Director General of the World Trade Organisation. Former European Commissioner for Trade; Honorary President of the Paris-based think tank Notre Europe, former chief of cabinet to the President of the European Commission
  • Alhaji Muhammad Mumuni, Secretary General of the African, Caribbean, and Pacific Group of States (ACP). Former long standing member of the Parliament of Ghana
  • H.E. Sheikha Haya Rashed Al Khalifa, pioneer female lawyer and distinguished diplomat from Bahrain. Elected President of the 61st session of the United Nations General Assembly. Active participant in the movement to elevate the position of women in Bahrain
  • Zainab Bangura, Special Representative of the United Nations Secretary General on Sexual Violence in Conflict. Former Minister of Foreign Affairs and Minister of Health and Sanitation for the Government of Sierra Leone
  • Kathy Calvin, President and CEO of the United Nations Foundation. Former President of the AOL Time Warner Foundation, with a diverse career in politics, journalism, public relations, and business
  • Dr Benita Ferrero-Waldner, President of the EU-LAC Foundation. Former Foreign Minister of Austria from 2000 to 2004. Former European Commissioner for External Relations and European Neighbourhood Policy from 2004 to 2009
  • Dr Jane Goodall, UN Ambassador of Peace and Primatologist
  • Professor Laura Tyson, Professor of Business Administration and Eco- nomics, Haas School of Business, University of California, Berkley
  • Ana Palacio, former Foreign Affairs Minister of Spain; member of the Council of State. Former Vice-President and General Counsel of the World Bank, former Secretary General of the International Centre for the Settlement of Investment Disputes (ICSID)
  • Saadia Zahidi, Senior Director, Head of Gender Parity and Human Capital, World Economic Forum, Founder and Co-Author of the Global Gender Gap Report series

Leave a Reply