Global Advisory board

Denis Mukwege

Founder and director of the Panzi Hospital, specialized in treating victims of sexual violence, honoured with the UN Human Rights Award 2008 and the Right Livelihood Award 2013.
Video WIP Annual Summit 2013

Ertharin Cousin

Executive Director of the World Food Programme, former US Ambassador to the UN Agencies for Food and Agriculture and former head of the US Mission to UN Agencies in Rome, Italy.
Video WIP Annual Summit 2013

Irina Bokova

Bokova has been the Director-General of UNESCO since 15 November 2009, and reelected for a second term in 2013. She is the first woman to lead the Organization.

WIP Summit 2015

Jane Goodall

Ethologist, Founder – the Jane Goodall Institute,  UN Messenger of Peace and founder of Roots & Shoots, a global programme for young people of all ages.

Jody Williams

Chair of the Nobel Women’s Initiative. 1997 Nobel Peace Prize Laureate for her work as founding coordinator of the International Campaign to Ban Landmines (ICBL).

Video WIP Annual Summit 2013

José Manuel Barroso

President of the European Commission (2004 – 2014). He served as Prime Minister of Portugal (2002 – 2004).

Kathy Calvin

President and CEO of the United Nations Foundation. Former President of the AOL Time Warner Foundation, with a diverse career in politics, journalism, public relations, and business.
Video WIP Annual Summit 2013

Laura Liswood

Laura Liswood is the Secretary General of the Council of Women World Leaders. Laura Liswood also held the title of the commissioner of the City of Seattle Women’s Commission, and was the owner/publisher of Seattle Woman.

Laura Tyson

Professor of Business Administration and Economics, Haas School of Business, University of California, Berkley.

Marie-Louise Coleiro Preca

President of the Republic of Malta since 2014. She was a Member of Parliament from 1998 to 2014 and served as the Minister for the Family and Social Solidarity from 2013 to 2014. Coleiro Preca has been active in national politics for the past forty years, since the age of sixteen.

Michelle Bachelet

UN High Commissioner for Human Rights, President of Chile (2006-2010 and 2014-2018)

Mo Ibrahim

Sudanese-British mobile communications entrepreneur and philanthropist. Founder and Chair of the Mo Ibrahim Foundation. Creator of the Mo Ibrahim Prize for Achievement in African Leadership and the Mo Ibrahim Index of African Governance.
Video WIP Summer Summit 2014

Muhammad Yunus

Bangladeshi philanthropist, economist and founder of the Grameen Bank. 2006 Nobel Peace Prize Laureate for his efforts through microcredit to create economic and social development.
Video WIP Annual Summit 2013

Olli Rehn

Vice-President of the European Parliament (2014-2015). Former Vice-President of the European Commission and Former European Commissioner for Economic and Monetary Affairs and the Euro. Variety of senior political positions in European institutions as well as in Finland.

Pascal Lamy

Former Director General of the World Trade Organisation. Former European Commissioner for Trade; Honorary President of the “Paris & Berlin based Think tank Notre Europe – Jacques Delors Institute”, former chief of cabinet to the President of the European Commission.

Video WIP Annual Summit 2013

Rebeca Grynspan

Head of the Ibero-American Secretariat, former Associate Administrator of the United Nations Development Program and United Nations Undersecretary-General, former Vice-President of Costa Rica.

Tarja Halonen

Former President of Finland and Finland’s first female Head of State, Member of the Board of Trustees of the Oslo Center for Peace and Human Rights, Co-Chair of the UN High-level Panel on Global Sustainability as well as Chair of the Council of Women World Leaders.
Video WIP Annual Summit 2013

Zainab Bangura

Special Representative of the United Nations Secretary General on Sexual Violence in Conflict. Former Minister of Foreign Affairs and Minister of Health and Sanitation for the Government of Sierra Leone.
Video WIP Annual Summit 2013